Posted in Book Review

Book Review: Timekeeper

timekeeper

Title:  Timekeeper

Author:  Tara Sim

Publisher:  Sky Pony Press

Pages:  368

Genre:  Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy/Steampunk?

Setting:  Victorian England

Source:    Net Galley

Publication Date:  Nov 1, 2016

Blurb:

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

From Me: 

Timekeeper was an intriguing novel. Set in Victorian England, the story is about Danny who is a clock mechanic. Without Danny and others like him, clock towers would not continue to function properly and thus, time would not function properly.

On a job, Danny meets a clock’s spirit, Colton, and they fall in love. It’s kind of a star-crossed lovers type of romance.

This book has a lot of romance and suspense. It’s definitely a page turner. The writing was good and Tara Sim doesn’t lose focus despite writing about several themes:  Victorian England, LGBT, science fiction, and fantasy. Other than the clocks controlling time, this novel was pretty light on the steampunk elements, which is why I added the ? in my beginning description. The time element itself was pretty unique. I can’t recall another book that I’ve read that used this theme in quite this way.

I was mildly annoyed by the relationships that Danny had with the adults in this book. They constantly doubted him, made decisions without Danny’s input, and generally were negative aspects in Danny’s life. Sounds pretty typical when you think of a 17 year old and adults. However, at times, it felt contrived and nitpicky rather than moving the story forward. This was minor though but still felt it was worth mentioning.

Over all, I enjoyed this novel and I can see the appeal to a younger audience. It was a fast read and I was surprised when I saw that it’s almost 400 printed pages since I read it as an electronic advanced copy. I’m not sure I’ll follow this series through and read the next one though.

 

Advertisements

Author:

Bibliophile * INTJ * LIS Graduate Student at Kent State * Mom * Social Media Junkie * BuJo Enthusiast * Planner Addict * Did I mention, I read a lot?

One thought on “Book Review: Timekeeper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s