Posted in Community, meme, Weekly Reading

Mid-Week Update 10-12-16

I’m prepping for Dewey’s Read-a-Thon right now. I’m trying to pick out a variety of books, both in length and genre. So far, I have one novel, two Net Galley books, and eight graphic novels (if I’m remembering correctly) picked out. My daughter also has the first four Attack of the Titan books and I might give those a try for Dewey’s too. I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to read all of those in one day so I should be good to go. If not, I have a couple of nonfiction history books on Napoleon that I’ve been wanting to read for backup. Are you participating in the read-a-thon this year? Is it your first time? This will be my second year and I’m really looking forward to it.

Now for What Are You Reading Wednesdays hosted by It’s a Reading Thing.

whatareyoureadingwed

Grab the book you are currently reading and answer three questions:
1. What’s the name of your current read?
2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a couple of sentences.
3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

timekeeper

Currently, I’m reading Timekeeper by Tara Sim. At 34% we have:

The clock chimed five. It sounded almost celebratory as they stood there, hands clasped between them like the meeting of continents. Colton’s mouth was soft and warm, sunlight on silk. Danny was swallowing light. It dived down inside of him until he imagined it bursting out of every pore. When he pulled back, he was light-headed and breathless. ‘You know, before I met you, I’d never kissed a clock spirit.’ Colton smiled, ‘First time for everything.’

The book’s synopsis:

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

I’m not far enough into this book to say whether or not I’d like to live in this world. It sounds interesting but dangerous at the same time. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more.

Advertisements

Author:

Bibliophile * INTJ * LIS Graduate Student at Kent State * Mom * Social Media Junkie * BuJo Enthusiast * Planner Addict * Did I mention, I read a lot?

2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Update 10-12-16

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s