Posted in Community, Fun Bookishness

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author

I had a super hard time with this one. I like bookish tags/memes because the topic of your post is picked out for you, which for me is half the battle. But gosh! I really had to wrack my brain to come up with a response for this week’s prompt and I still only came up with 8ish. I also realized that I don’t read a whole lot of “super popular” adult books, but I do read quite a bit of popular young adult books. Weird.

toptentuesday

  1. If you read the Twilight series, I wish you would read, the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris or even the Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole. I’d only recommend these two series to the 18+ crowd though. If you wanted to do me a really big favor, read Dracula by Bram Stoker and/or Sheridan Le Fanu’s Carmilla.
  2. If you read any of Rainbow Rowell’s books, read all her other ones, lol. I’ve read them all except for Attachments and Carry On. Also, I recommend Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon for Rowell fans.
  3. If you’ve read The Diviners series by Libba Bray, I recommend the author Gail Carriger to you. Not quite the same genres, but both authors are good at creating immersive worlds and flawed characters.
  4. If you enjoy Ally Condie’s books, move right along to Lauren Oliver. I can’t think of one without thinking of the other.
  5. For fans of Cinder, I recommend A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. A Thousand Pieces of You isn’t a retelling like Cinder, but they do have some similar themes.
  6. In my opinion, Deborah Harkness and Juliet Dark write very similarly themed books. Harkness tends to lean more towards historical than does Dark, but they both felt very similar to me.
  7. This one here is a cluster of authors. If you liked one, then read them all:  Alison Weir, Phillipa Gregory, Margaret George, Michelle Moran, and Antonia Fraser. This is a mix of historical fiction and non fiction. This is also why I said “8ish” in my introduction.
  8. My last entry is two different authors who write two different SUB genres of books but I read both of their books for the same reason:  they are all very character driven. J.D. Robb and Janet Evanovich. Robb writes police procedural/romance novels set in the near future whereas Evanovich writes about an inept bounty hunter and her romantic encounters. I’ve reread both of these series multiple times and they will always remain my “fuzzy socks, in front of the fireplace, with a glass of wine” reads. They could also probably be classified as beach reads.
Advertisements

Author:

Bibliophile * INTJ * LIS Graduate Student at Kent State * Mom * Social Media Junkie * BuJo Enthusiast * Planner Addict * Did I mention, I read a lot?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books To Read If You Like This Super Popular Book/Author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s